The 16 Latin American Nobel prizes

With the news of the Colombian president getting the Peace Nobel prize let’s take a look at the 16 Nobel prizes that have been given to Latin America.

Several Latin American have been awarded the prestigious Nobel award since it was instituted. Mexico, Colombia, Argentina, Chile, among many other countries have been the cradle of these great to have the name of their homeland high.

The Nobel Prize honors the best worldwide in various areas: Literature, Medicine, Chemistry, Physics, Peace and Economics.

Two women and fourteen Latin American men have won the award in various areas.

Nobel Prize for Literature:

María del Perpetuo Socorro Godoy Alcayaga (Gabriela Mistral, Chile) - 1945

Miguel Angel Asturias Rosales (Guatemala) - 1967

Eliecer Neftali Ricardo Reyes Basoalto (Pablo Neruda, Chile) - 1971

Gabriel García Márquez (Colombia) - 1982

Octavio Paz (Mexico) - 1990

Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru) - 2010

Nobel Peace Prize

Carlos Saavedra Lamas (Argentina) - 1936

Adolfo Perez Esquivel (Argentina) - 1980

Alfonso Garcia Robles (Mexico) - 1982

Oscar Arias Sanchez (Costa Rica) - 1987

Rigoberta Mechú (Guatemala) - 1992

Nobel Prizes in Medicine

Bernardo Houssay (Argentina) - 1947

Baruj Benacerraf (Venezuela) - 1980

Cesar Milstein (Argentina) - 1984

Nobel Laureates in Chemistry

Luis Federico Leloir (Argentina) - 1987

Mario Jose Molina-Pasquel Herníquez (Mexico) – 1995

In 2016 another Latin American entered this selected group. Because of his determined efforts to bring to an end a war of more than 50 years in the country (Colombia), the Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded President Juan Manuel Santos the 2016 Peace prize.

After more than 10 years the Peace prize had not reached Latin America after Rigoberta Menchú Tum the K'iche' political activist from Guatemala. Menchú has dedicated her life to publicizing the rights of Guatemala's indigenous feminists during and after the Guatemalan Civil War (1960–1996), and to promoting indigenous rights in the country. She received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1992 and the Prince of Asturias Award in 1998. She is the subject of the testimonial biography I, Rigoberta Menchú (1983) and the author of the autobiographical work, Crossing Borders. Menchú is a UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador. She has also become a figure in indigenous political parties and ran for President of Guatemala in 2007 and 2011.

So this is the perfect chance to remember this 16 men and women that have represented Latin America with their extraordinary work.

We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…